Life Overhaul

October 2, 2016 at 17:13 (Uncategorized)

I’m in the process of overhauling my sewing area – sorting out, discarding scraps and boxing trims and the like.

With the downscale of my life in general, I’ve decided to sew like I want to. I like to buy a piece of material and make it into something. I don’t hoard material and debate what I’m going to make out of it – it’s not how I work. So anything that I can’t make something out of right now, is moving on.

A while ago I bought 2m of shweshwe with a vague idea of making a light jacket.  But when I went back to the jacket pattern, I realised I wouldn’t actually wear it so I folded the material and put it on the shelf. And it sat there forgotten until I pulled everything off the shelf.

So this afternoon I put together a simple skirt shaped with box pleats.

There are three pleats on the sides and a zip up the back.

One of the best things about getting rid of things that just hang around is the feeling of lightness – the annoyance of the thing is gone. I got rid of a couple of big items this year that I couldn’t use anymore due to my injured hand, my scooter as an example, and I haven’t missed them since. In some cases, I’ve felt relief as they were taken away.

Leave a Reply

