Tropes

March 24, 2015 at 09:35 (Uncategorized)

There are some tropes I love – I know them, I recognise them and I love them.  I seldom go to TV Tropes because there will be hours of entertainment and very little of anything else and sometimes I actually have work to do.

I’ve come to realise that some things I read, I read because I “know” which tropes are coming – I read shounen manga for shounen manga tropes.  Story and characters are important, of course, but I do like some genre tropes thrown in there.

I think because of this, I find myself getting annoyed with people who complain about tropes – if you don’t like it, don’t read it (or watch it).  Kurosaki Ichigo is too The Chosen One for me so I stopped reading Bleach.  But I think people want to complain.

But I’m not complaining about Fairy Tail – I’m so excited for what’s happening.  I eagerly await each chapter; Gintama as well – two manga I’m really into at the moment.

Leave a Reply

