Finger

February 27, 2015 at 16:16 (Uncategorized)

The beginning…

DSC02582

The middle…

DSC02590

The “end”…

10934022_10153054993847324_1493537678637076262_n

I say ‘end’ but I only mean end of braces and physio appointments.  There is still the morning ritual of making it straight and the evening ritual of making a fist, as well as squeezing a foam ball.  But when my hand is relaxed the ring finger looks like any other.

Apart from the obvious hindrances of having a broken finger, a couple of unexpected things have occurred.  For example, a new found apprehension of climbing stairs and ladders.  I worry that if I trip I won’t be able to catch myself from falling because I can’t grip things quickly.  And when falling, you don’t really have time to flex and prepare your fingers to grip.  It’s also difficult to demonstrate the difference between ‘flat’ and ‘bent’ when one finger is bent, thus throwing off the idea of flat.

But people adapt after losing fingers and so I shall adapt as well.  It’s just… slow going.

Leave a Reply

