Romantic Ideas

September 26, 2013 at 15:30 (Uncategorized)

For the past year or so I’ve wanted to go to Japan and do a Japanese language course, however, it’s really pricey. So I checked out the numbers for a holiday in Japan and it’s possible on a super strict budget with doing almost nothing cultural. That’s not how I want to explore the country.

But I did find WWOOF. I thought this was a brilliant idea and I should sign up immediately. However, I remembered that I’ve been reading Silver Spoon, and manga life is not real life.

In Silver Spoon farming looks like hard work but it’s a kind of cute hard work – there are no flies, no smell, no noise, no grit in your eyes or ears, no blisters, no bug bites or arachnids. No repetition of daily tasks, nothing boring either. So when I was looking at WWOOF, I was seeing Silver Spoon.

This is not to say that WWOOF is a bad idea, it’s more that I should be looking at WWOOF and not Silver Spoon.

But before any decision is made, I must first see how long my garden enthusiasm lasts 🙂

Leave a Reply

