Journey

April 4, 2013 at 20:22 (Uncategorized)

Me and Aki downloaded Journey on Monday – waited an almost painful long time for it to download and then played it back to back.

It is currently the most enjoyable game I’ve ever played.  I liked the idea and the art, I loved the music.  One of the things I liked most was the companionship that developed at the end as we trudged through the snow and wind.  I don’t know who it was that stayed by me and waited for me but I was so pleased we finished the journey together.  I think what made it special for me was that nothing was said – a wordless shout.  Everything was displayed by actions and it really spoke to my current feelings about life.

It kind of reminded me about life – an journey that always comes back to the beginning, it has no point but you travel through anyway, sometimes with someone, sometimes without, it can be light or dark, fun or nerve wracking, intense and beautiful.  Filled with wonder.

The game is highly enjoyable as is, but I think what you bring to the game makes it so much more.

2 Comments

  1. Steve Barnett (@maxbarners) said,

    Yay! I’m glad that you enjoyed it.

    It’s one of my favourite PS3 games. So beautiful and enchanting and… kinda spooky.

Leave a Reply

