A change in the wind

February 14, 2012 at 20:19 (Uncategorized)

I used to get up at 06h30 and leave for work at 07h30.  In this hour, I would walk the dog, make lunch, get dressed, eat breakfast and occasionally play a bit of piano.  Now I get up at 06h30 and leave around 07h30 but all I even seem to be able to do it get dressed and eat breakfast and, lately, make lunch.  I came up with a cunning plan on the weekend to get back into my old routine – get up at 06h00, do all that I used to do and soon[ish] I would be back to my usual speed.  However, all that happened is that I now hit the snooze button until 06h30 and continue as I have been.  My origin plan failed, but I’ve discovered something better.  Delaying actually getting up – I see it more as a slow wake up – has make the morning seem friendlier.  I feel I can tackle the day with ease.  This has greatly improved my approach to work.  And this is good because I like my job.

And in this morning doze, I realised something.  I must make a new routine.  My old routine is done – trying to bring what was into now is exhausting and depressing.  That was then and this is now.  So I took the dog for a walk this evening.  It was also more enjoyable because I wasn’t worried about time and he had more opportunities to sniff around.  There’ll still be low days but the good days are going to be real good days instead of days when I’m less upset.

Leave a Reply

