Why~!

March 5, 2011 at 21:19 (Uncategorized)

I have a pattern, I wear the dresses I made from this pattern.  Present tense, not past.  And yet, the dress I made today is too small.  Too small by at least 5cm at the back panel.  The front fits.  It’s insane – I can’t figure out why.

My dress making skills are all out of luck.  I wanted to make a winter dress from this great wool silk blend.  It’s huge!  And I measured myself…  I’m losing faith.  I want to make this epic Tudor garb that’s complex and involves lots work, I’ve even bought material.  But do I risk it?

I blame the heat – I’m obviously not thinking properly.  I did decide to unpick the dress and cut the pieces down to size but that is a task for winter.  The soft green 50’s dress with its gauzy silk will have to go to someone else.  A small someone else.

Leave a Reply

