Suddenly working

December 2, 2010 at 19:57 (Uncategorized)

A week ago I was unemployed, then six days ago I was employed.  However, I knew nothing about what I would be doing, what I would be earning, what hours I would be working and where I would be working – it was a novel experience.  But now I know all these things and I start tomorrow.  Teaching – not something I’ve seriously thought of doing but not something I’m against either.  It’s also not something I’ve ever done on a serious level so I have no idea whether I’ll be any good at it or if I actually want to do it.  Thus far, December is turning out to be a month of new experience (though the unknown employment was in November).

First on the list, because it happened on the first, is changing a network card.  Not over difficult once I managed to buy one.  I started at Garden’s Centre – worst mall in the world – was sent to Waterfront where I had two fantastic experiences.  One, dude at Incredible Connection telling me that they do not sell network cards and he doesn’t know what they are for O_o but he quickly asked if I wanted to ask another sales person.   Two, I have to type out because it actually made me laugh later in the afternoon when I had calmed down a bit.

Me:  Is there another computer shop, other than Incredible Connection, in the Waterfront?

Info desk girl:  Oh, yes – there is the iStore.

Me: …     Ah, well… Yes – thank you.

I also set up email thing in Outlook – that would have been a whole lot easier if I hadn’t misspelt the email address.   Of course none of these things would have been possible if I hadn’t had instruction from friends and Aki – thank you.

Lastly, I had an article publish.  In a newspaper.  On the front page.  True, it’s a free paper only distributed in the CBD, with no regular printing schedule and of all the articles I’ve written, the final one for the paper was published but I got paid for writing 😀  I also discovered I really don’t like journalism.

Leave a Reply

