Not making sense.

November 20, 2010 at 21:09 (Uncategorized)

It is a strange thing to not like something because of another person’s attitude toward that something.  ‘I don’t read manga X because of the obsessive behaviour of the fans’ – this makes no sense to me.  One Piece fans, like any other fans, can be um, serious about their ideas over One Piece but this is not why I don’t read it.  I don’t read One Piece because I’m not taken with the story and I don’t like the art – it’s quite simple.  Yet I’ve come across many people online, and in real life, who don’t like this or that because of the fans.  I’m never quite sure how to respond when it comes up in conversation.  There is always a pause where I frown, give a somewhat confused ‘right’ or ‘okay’ and then change the subject in the hope that there can actually be a conversation somewhere in the talking.

Another odd one for me is people absolutely hating a character and wishing they would die.  The character is a personal attack and the artist is out to get them.  No matter what purpose the character may [or may not] serve in the story is completely beside the point.

Okay, maybe I should stop reading artist’s comments on their fanart when I’m tired – so tired right now.  And it’s not even 21h30 yet.

Leave a Reply

