Write Fanfiction

November 5, 2010 at 08:51 (Uncategorized)

I, along with others, receive little pep email from authors when attempting NaNoWriMo.  Sometimes I read them and sometimes I don’t, it all depends on how I’m feeling or if I know the author.  This morning there was one from Mercedes Lackey.  I read it because I have read her one or two of her books many, many years ago, I didn’t particularly like them but I did finish them.  Anyway, the reason why I’m blogging about this is that she suggested fanfiction for writing practice.  Which is brilliant.  When I first started blogging, I blogged about the benefits of writing stories where you don’t have to describe the characters, locations or histories – all you have to do it write a story, work on the story, develop story telling skills.  I don’t see it as an affirmation of my thinking but it is nice to know that other also think along the same lines.

One of my most popular pieces of fanfic is a human drama piece.  The second most annoying genre I’ve tried to read.  But my fanfic has hospitals, amnesia, inner turmoil and revelations – it’s great 😛  Because of this I decided to try a human drama piece for my NaNoWriMo.  I came up with a fair enough story but I’m beginning to doubt whether I can keep up the drama for 50 000 words.  I have a grand collection of 1790 words and it’s day five.  I am also going away this weekend and writing an exam next week.  It is a bleak future for my novel.

Leave a Reply

