Writing

March 21, 2010 at 19:56 (Uncategorized)

I can have a complete fit when fanfiction writers say things like ‘no reviews, no writing’ or ‘no one is reviewing so I’m not finishing’.  The conclusion I’ve come to is that they do not write for the pleasure of writing or storytelling.  Or to further explore the worlds created.  They do not write for themselves but rather for something that I don’t really get, some reason I can’t figure out.  And they hold their readers to ransom.  For what?  A piece of fanfiction that generally isn’t all that good to begin with.  A chance at seeing two characters that normally won’t be together get together.

Don’t get me wrong, I love reviews but they are truly not the reason I write.  I want to tell a story* and often, I want to tell a story with characters that are not mine.  I think of a situation and wonder, based on what I know of a character, how would said character react to the situation or how would they reaction to the reaction of another character in the situation.  But if you are writing for reviews and not to tell a story, where is the story?  And if there is no story, why are you writing?

[*about Jack and the Glory, shall I begin it?  There’s nothing in it 😛 ]

Leave a Reply

