Naming badies

January 28, 2010 at 15:56 (Uncategorized)

I’m working on a story set in a postapocalyptic world and so decided to use real names instead of making up names like I usually do.  Some of the names I really like but I’m struck by the thought – what if actually get this published and people want to know why I chose the names I did – am I discriminating against cultures because the badie has an Arabic name?  Why have you given some of the good guys Japanese names?  Is ‘becuase it sounded cool’ and ‘I like saying the name’ a good enough excuse?  I suppose I could say that because the earth has exploded, there are no cultures left – one big group of people trying to survive.  But that’s not true…

I blame literary analysis for this sort of crap thinking.

Leave a Reply

