Lawlessness

August 2, 2009 at 11:12 (Uncategorized)

Twice since moving to MB, cashiers have refused to scan an item that I wish to purchase.  The first time was a fabric shopping bag and the second [today] was a cauliflower.  I never know what to do – it’s stealing by both the cashier and myself.  But at the same time, I hate making a scene about anything.  So I stand there; the two sides of myself battling it out – it freaks me out.

The worst was last week when I wanted to buy a pair of shades and the sales assistant told me to steal them – ‘put them in your bag and walk out’ – that is what she said.  To make it worse while I was attempting to process her words into something reasonable, she took them from me and put them in my bag!  I have never taken anything out my bag so fast – I’m surprised they didn’t just rocket off into the atmosphere.  Those I paid for in a sort of bewildered daze.

Nightmarish…

2 Comments

  1. sakana said,

    why on EARTH would the cashiers encourage you to steal something ??? That is very bizarre. Very.

    (this is jess, btw)

    • nantalith said,

      I have absolutely no idea unless it was a weirdass form of entrapment O_o

      She just shrugged when I said I couldn’t do that – almost as if ‘well, your loss’ kind of thing.

Leave a Reply

