Illusions of sleep

January 21, 2009 at 12:23 (Uncategorized)

Between a rooster [04h15], a falling branch [02h00], mosquitoes and the incredible heat last night – I had very little sleep.  The rooster would have been okay if I didn’t have to get up at 05h00 so I could get back to CT.   Cape Town is quite nice at 06h00; the streets are clear and I can walk properly – only, the gardens are still closed.  Strange things: Long Street full of parked taxis with the drivers sleeping in their cars and the pavements were littered with dead cockroaches.

I may have figured out why I failed my business English module… I don’t recall writing the second part of the two part question.  I don’t think I’ll do particularly well this time because I ran out of time.  It takes me a really long time to make up a business story for minutes and reports.  The minutes question had to include a racism issue – I made up some interbranch racist remarks.  I hope they are okay or, at least, good enough for passing.  I put a production setback of 32% due to a strike in my report question – it seems a bit light but people get worried over smaller figures in the Financial Mail, which I don’t actually read all that often – I just have in the past.

Last night I saw The Day the Earth Stood Still… BOR-RING!  The most entertaining part was when some Chinese was being spoken but the subtitles were in Russian so my sister and I made up our own dialogue.  I was SO hoping for a ‘bad ending’ but the alien has a change of heart – bleagh!  And I wanted to strangle the little brat of a child dead.

Leave a Reply

