Sparknotes

January 5, 2009 at 15:30 (Uncategorized)

I found this while looking for some outside information about the Great Gatsby and The Merchant of Venice – so far it’s been really helpful and easy to understand.  I only found it this morning though…

Went to see the Nutcracker yesterday afternoon.  I recognised every piece of music – it was a bit of a odd sensation; the story was also a bit odd – rats fighting soldiers O_o   But it was beautiful to watch.  I enjoyed the snowflakes and the bit at the end the most – basically where there were many dancers on stage [I prefer it to solos]. 

I had heard that it might have been Africanised and was preparing myself for disappointment but it wasn’t – SO pleased.  I really, really can’t stand it when stuff is  ‘canised.  Leave it original!  I did feel sorry for the dancers though, there were these black mats [looked like judo mats] on the stage and a couple of dancers slipped and others looked like they were trying not to slip.  At one point the Snow Prince REALLY had to catch the Snow Queen or she would have slid off the stage 😀

More money needs to be put into ballet!!   [It requires two exclamation marks.]

2 Comments

  1. Tyler said,

    Literature, art, history, all of it can be beautiful in its own way, just like the Nutcracker is. I found another resource out there to help with the history and literature, and when I saw your post, I thought you might be interested. It’s called Shmoop.

    They’ve got information on <a href=”http://www.shmoop.com/intro/literature/f-scott-fitzgerald/the-great-gatsby.html”The Great Gatsby AND The Merchant of Venice. They take a fun approach to the subject, and they really know their stuff!

    Check them out over at http://www.shmoop.com. Hope that helps!

  2. nantalith said,

    Thank you for your comment.

Leave a Reply

