Sorry, what?

September 23, 2008 at 13:20 (Uncategorized)

I read fanfiction because I like certain characters and want to read further adventures concerning them, preferable canon in character well written action adventure stories with good dialogue [rare].  So when I came across the review for a story that I was undecided on reading [oft time the level of the reviews are indicative of the story plot or writing style], I was unsure of how to react.

The reviewer noted that they were hesitant in reviewing because they do not know the anime nor can that they state anything about the intentions of the character nor where they are coming from but they wanted to comment on the tone of the piece [personally, I think this is rather nice but not the point of the post].

Ultimately, I’m curious as to why someone would trawl through the fanfiction of an unknown anime/book/whatever looking for something to read – go for original fiction rather.  I would think that some of the story would be lost is you didn’t know the fandom – you would know no background, character traits or descriptions.  There is so much crap out there that I would be very nervous to venture into unknown fandoms.  Hell, I’m nervous venturing into known fandoms.

Leave a Reply

