You do what?

October 16, 2006 at 12:46 (Uncategorized)

I write Fan Fiction.  Said and done, it’s true.  (Under the name Katalith)

Muffle the giggles and listen first.  My head is full of stories but I’m just not experienced enough to put my thoughts on to paper (or Word).  I lack the vocabulary I am looking for.  What FF allows me to do it is concentrate on story writing without having to explain characters, backgrounds or places.  I can experiment with writing styles and develop my own style.  So when it comes to my original fiction I know how to write a story.  My first attempts at fiction writing are terrible, there is almost no continuity and the story jerks from scene to scene.  It is painful to read and you spend half the time trying to figure out what I’m trying to say rather the trying figure out the plot.

In addition, getting feed back for ideas that you’ve put out there is good.  It shows me what works and what doesn’t.  Don’t get me wrong – there is crap out there, these are just the reasons I write FF.  It’s like getting XP, one day (hopefully) I’ll level up and people might actually pay me to write.

Leave a Reply

